May 11, 2021

The Max-Approved Mixtape - Episode #11! (Brought to you by RandoMax Radio)


Eleven episodes into the Max-Approved Mixtape experiment, we're starting to hit our groove. Sure, deejays both amateur and professional have been putting together song compilations for millenia at this point, so my humble little radio show-slash-podcast isn't going to alter the tides, but I like using this side project as a way to complement the many many many write-ups that I've published throughout the years, so I hope these episodes have found you enjoying some of these tracks in a new and different way.

But enough of the mushy sentimentality. Episode 11 of the Max-Approved Mixtape features ten hip hop tracks shined down upon from the heavens, each lifted from various eras of our beloved culture and compiled in a manner that gives each song new context. There is no expiration date on good music, but perhaps some of these you haven't thought of in a while in a while, so you may find some pleasant surprises within the tracklist below.


1. Hittman - "Last Dayz"
2. The Roots - "Thought @ Work (Original Version)"
3. Mobb Deep - "The Realest" (featuring Kool G. Rap)
4. Afu-Ra - "D&D Soundclash" (featuring Cocoa Brovaz and Jahdan Blakkamoore)
5. Tony Touch - "Pit Fight" (featuring The Beatnuts and Greg Nice)
6. The LOX - "Think Of The LOX" (featuring Westside Gunn and Benny the Butcher)
7. Camp Lo - "Coolie High Is Life"
8. Crimeapple - "Spoons" (featuring Vic Spencer)
9. The Lady of Rage - "Put You Up On Rage"
10. CyHi da Prynce - "No Dope On Sundays" (featuring Pusha T)

Share this one with everyone in your life. Literally every single person you know. Let's get those streams up as a favor to me, will ya?

Until next post,


No comments:

Post a Comment